The Ministry’s organizational structure has two (2) levels namely: Headquarters and Missions abroad.  The Ministry is headed by a Cabinet Minister and is assisted by two (2) Permanent Secretaries, one in charge of International Relations and Cooperation and the other one is responsible Administration and is also the Controlling Officer. The Ministry consists six (7) Departments, and thirty-Nine (39) Missions abroad. The Departments are:

i. Human Resource Management and Administration;

ii. Political Affairs;

iii.   Development Cooperation and International Organization;

iv. Protocol and Consular Services;

v. Accounts;

vi. Office of the Special Envoy and National Coordinator for the Great

     Lakes Region; and

vii. Zambia Anti-Personnel Mine Action Centre.

The Ministry is also responsible for the Zambia Institute of Diplomacy and

International Studies (ZIDIS) which is a Statutory Institution.